Home > Uncategorized > Culturally Programmed

Culturally Programmed


This post is a result of the comments in my previous post. In this post, I am going to take a piece out of this great post, just to point how our morality is defined by the so-called culture.

In India (OK, may be only in South India), lets say you are a man with a younger sister then its your moral obligation to marry your sister into a “good family” and think about your marriage only after this.  If at all you decide to marry before your younger sister, then you will be hurled with abuse. You are irresponsible. You are selfish. This holds true even if you have a “independent” sister.  One of my friend asked after seeing Vaaranam Aayiram, Why don’t anyone talk about Surya’s sister marriage?, Isn’t it father /son Surya’s responsibility”. Such it goes.

I believe this “marrying sister into good-family” is not found in Western culture.  At least, as far as I have observed. Imagine, Tom Cruise saying this to Cameron Diaz, “I can marry you only after putting my sister  in safe hands” 🙂

N.B : I also like to believe that my anger at the lady (in comments of previous post) who used “police connection” to come out of a situation is also a “cultural thing”.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment